انجليزي جديد
    تاريخ التسجيل
    Feb 2008
    الدولة
    الرياض
    المشاركات
    معدل تقييم المستوى

English Is A Language

Here I am talking about my experience in teaching English. Even though I'm only a three years expert in teaching English. Linguists claim various theories about language. One theory that I believe it's not only a theory. It's a fact to me to be precise. This theory says that teaching a language differs than teaching any other subject in school. It's wrong to apply the same approach a teacher uses to teach science, for example, to teach some language. Every subject has its own methodology. I've been teaching the 3rd intermediate for three years. And I still notice that students deal with English the same way they do with other subjects, while English can be so much fun course to them. English should be wild to them not narrowed. Also, it shouldn't be taught as language only. The fun that I'm pointing to is the information about languages an English teacher can tell her students about. If such a thing is not fun enough or not fun at all, the teacher can include telling students about the culture where this language comes from. I know students nowadays are exposed and opened to knowing the culture of language since they watch TV and surf the net. However, the knowledge about this culture they have is not the knowledge that benefits them with language sake I believe. They may know how relationships work only. Like how a person can have a partner without being married and so on. Teaching a language should be wilder. Learning a language should be wilder as well. When I first taught English my students always complained that I don't translate vocabularies for them. I told them that my job is not to translate the language for you. My job is to teach you about the language and the culture it comes from. Also, to teach you some gaps that you may not realize in learning it. You are gonna have to seek for knowledge. You have to seek knowledge. I believe